Press Release
Paris, 17 February 2005

International Ministerial Conference "Nuclear Power for the 21st Century"

Paris, 21-22 March 2005

Ministers from 29 countries have confirmed they will attend a two day conference in Paris, March 21-22, "Nuclear Power for the 21st Century", organised by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and hosted by the Government of France in cooperation with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA).

The ministers, with government officials from an additional 30 countries, will examine the future role of nuclear energy in meeting the energy needs of the world and present their views on the current and future role of nuclear power in the context of national energy strategies. Discussions at the conference will cover issues such as world energy needs and resources, environmental challenges, energy choices and governance, including compliance with non-proliferation undertakings.

Up until now, countries that have confirmed their participation are: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh(*), Belgium(*) Brazil, Bulgaria(*), Canada(*), Chile, China(*),Costa Rica(*), Croatia, Egypt(*), Finland, France(*), Ghana(*), Germany, Holy See, Hungary(*), India(*), Indonesia(*), Islamic Republic of Iran(*), Italy, Japan(*), Jordan, Republic of Korea(*), Latvia(*), Lithuania(*), Malaysia, Mali(*), Republic of Moldova, Morocco (*), Netherlands, Panama, Pakistan(*), Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation(*), Saudi Arabia(*), Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia(*), Slovenia(*), South Africa, Sudan(*), Syrian Arab Republic, Sweden, Tajikistan, Thailand(*), Tunisia, Turkey(*), Ukraine(*), United Kingdom, the United States, Vietnam(*), and Yemen. [(*) indicates ministerial level participation and more are expected.]

Further details on the conference, as well as a ccreditation for journalists, are available online at


Press contacts:

Peter Rickwood
Public Information Officer
Division of Public Information
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Tel. +43 1 2600 22047
Tel. +43 664 203 0899 (mobile)

Sophie Rompteau
Service de la Communication
Ministère de l'économie des finances et de l'industrie

Tel. +33 1 53 18 88 26
Fax +33 1 53 18 96 20

Helen Fisher
Media Relations Manager
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Tel. +33 1 45 24 80 97


NEA membership consists of 30 OECD countries. The mission of the NEA is to assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co-operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. The NEA also provides authoritative assessments and forges common understandings on key issues, as input to government decisions on nuclear energy policy and to broader OECD policy analyses in areas such as energy and sustainable development.

Home - About NEA - Work Areas - Data Bank - Publications - Press Room - Search

2008 Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development