Press release
Paris, 13 June 2002


The Slovak Republic joins the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

On 13 June 2002, the OECD Council approved the membership of the Slovak Republic in the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency and its Data Bank. The Slovak Republic had previously become a Member of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) on 14 December 2000. This approval brings the membership of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) to 28.

The Slovak Republic's six nuclear power units, equipped with VVER-440 reactors, presently provide about 53% of the country's electricity. This country has set up modern nuclear laws and regulations, and established an independent nuclear safety and regulatory authority. It has nuclear research and training facilities, as well as active programmes in the radioactive waste management field.

After the Czech Republic and Hungary, the Slovak Republic is the third country from Central Europe to join the Agency. Slovakia's membership will further enhance international co-operation under NEA auspices in the areas of nuclear safety, regulation and development. It also testifies to the extent to which this country has adapted its nuclear safety standards and legal framework in recent years to those of other OECD countries.

Related links

About the NEA

NEA member countries

Media enquiries: