Nuclear Energy Agency Online Bulletin
September 2005

Nuclear law news

International School of Nuclear Law

The fifth session of the International School of Nuclear Law (ISNL), a programme jointly organised by the NEA and the University of Montpellier 1, took place on 22 August - 2 September 2005 in Montpellier, France. The ISNL aims to provide a high-quality programme on all aspects of the law governing the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. Classes cater to both law students pursuing their studies at masters or doctoral level who are interested in specialising in this field and to professionals already active in the nuclear sector. The 2005 session brought together 57 participants from 30 countries. Approximately two-thirds were practitioners in the nuclear field and the remainder law students. Classes took place over a two-week period, combining main lectures in the morning with practical exercises and case studies in the afternoon.

The University Diploma in International Nuclear Law is now firmly established. The Diploma is assessed in a threefold manner: continual assessment during the course; completion of a take-home exam; and submission of a dissertation on a subject of international nuclear law. Students who pass the Diploma are eligible for European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) credits, which facilitate the recognition of study periods spent in European universities. The nuclear law module of the World Nuclear University Summer Institute, held in Idaho Falls in July 2005, was provided by the ISNL.

The International Nuclear Law Association, the European Commission and the International Atomic Energy Agency also extended their patronage or support to the organisation of this session.

The next session is due to take place in Montpellier from 28 August to 8 September 2006. Further information on the ISNL and application forms for its 2006 session will be available on this website at

Related links

Home - About NEA- Publications -Work Areas -Data Bank - About this site - What's New

2008 Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development