NEA Mandates and Structures

Working Party on Boiling Water Reactors (WPBWR)

Chair(s): Lennart BONS, Sweden
Secretary:  Thomas BUCKENMEYER
Vice-Chair(s): Eric THOMAS, United States
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Participant(s): India
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:04 June 2018
End of mandate:03 June 2021

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/SEN/NRA(2018)6



The Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities (CNRA) has considered a request by a number of countries involved in the Advanced Boiling Water Reactor Working Group of the Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP ABWRWG) for the creation of a regulatory forum for boiling water reactors (BWRs) and advanced boiling water reactors (ABWRs).

In December 2017, the CNRA approved the establishment of an ad hoc group to serve as a regulatory forum for boiling water reactors. This group should perform a self-assessment after its first year to determine whether its activities may continue in the long-term with the support of the CNRA.


The WPBWR covers all boiling water reactors, including ABWRs and Economic Simplified Boiling Water Reactors (ESBWRs).

The WPBWR is responsible for establishing:

In order to accomplish these objectives, the WPBWR shall:

Working Methods

The WPBWR will:

Proposed Outcomes and Outputs

The WPBWR will provide regulatory perspective of the challenges raised by BWRs, including responses to relevant nuclear site challenges. This will be done via discussions and the generation of reports and guidance. Particular attention will be paid to additional, or revised, regulatory approaches that may be needed to facilitate effective regulation of BWRs compared to other light-water reactors.

The outcomes will include: