NEA Mandates and Structures

Integration Group for the Safety Case (IGSC)

Chair(s): Lucy BAILEY, United Kingdom
Secretaries:  Massimo CIAMBRELLA
Gloria KWONG
Vice-Chair(s): Manuel CAPOUET, Belgium
Ulrich NOSECK, Germany
Hitoshi MAKINO, Japan
Ann-Kathrin LEUZ, Switzerland
Tom PEAKE, United States
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 June 2000
End of mandate:31 December 2022

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/RWM(2019)5/FINAL


The IGSC provides advice to the RWMC on major and emerging issues to facilitate the development of waste management strategies at national and international levels and to enable the management of radioactive waste and materials to benefit from progress of scientific and technical knowledge. In particular, the IGSC:



In undertaking its mission, the IGSC will: