Press release
Paris, 25 May 1998

Radioactive waste management in OECD/NEA member countries

The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) announces the publication of an illustrated public information file presenting in a standardised format descriptions of 17 NEA countries' radioactive waste management programmes. Each of the fact sheets composing this file includes a brief overview of the nuclear energy programme in the country being reviewed, a description of its radioactive waste management programme, R&D work in this field, provisions regarding the long-term financing of radioactive waste storage and disposal, transport, and a list of contact points for further information. This file also includes a description of the role of international co-operation in the field of radioactive waste management under the aegis of the NEA, a summary of recent NEA findings and "collective opinion" statements adopted by NEA member countries. This new publication will be a useful reference tool for those interested in an up-to-date overview of the status of radioactive waste management programmes in NEA countries. It can also provide additional support to public information programmes, in particular those aimed at students and visitors at nuclear power sites.

This newly published file contains information on radioactive waste management programmes in the following countries: Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States.

Radioactive Waste Management Programmes in OECD/NEA Member Countries
OECD, Paris 1998
ISBN 92-64-16033-7

Please quote title and reference in any review.

Media enquiries: