OECD/NEA and U.S. NRC PWR MOX/UO2 Core Transient Benchmark

OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA),
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Purdue University - School of Nuclear Engineering
NEA Nuclear Science Committee (NSC)

Benchmark Description

The present benchmark is designed to provide the framework to assess the ability of modern reactor kinetic codes to predict the transient response of a core partially loaded with MOX fuel. This benchmark employs many of the characteristics of the NEACRP L-335 PWR benchmark proposed by Finnemann in 1991 [Finnemann, 1991] which was designed to assess the ability of spatial kinetics codes to model rod ejection transients. The current problem adds the complexity of modelling a rod eject in a core fuelled partially with weapons grade MOX. The core chosen for the simulation is based on four-loop Westinghouse PWR power plant similar to the reactor chosen for Plutonium disposition in the U.S.

The problem is designed primarily to assess core simulators, and therefore few group constants are specified at the level of homogenized pin cells. However, some participants may wish to utilize their own cross section generation methodology or to model explicitly the heterogeneous pins in their core simulators. Therefore, the benchmark will also specify material compositions and pin geometries in order to reach the widest range of participants and in order to be applicable to continuing code developments in which heterogeneous full core transport transients are becoming possible.

Benchmark documents

Benchmark data

Benchmark Results




This work has been performed under the auspices of OECD/NEA Working Party on Scientific Issues of Reactor Systems (WPRS) and is sponsored by U.S. NRC and OECD/NEA.

Other information

The full benchmark information is available on request from the OECD/NEA Data Bank on CD-ROM or DVD

List of Contributors


Tomasz Kozlowski (Purdue University, USA , currently at KTH, Sweden )
Thomas J. Downar (Purdue University, USA )
Enrico Sartori (OECD/NEA)

Problem specifications

Tomasz Kozlowski (Purdue University, USA , currently at KTH, Sweden )
Thomas J. Downar (Purdue University, USA )
Enrico Sartori (OECD/NEA)

Benchmark participants

Tomasz Kozlowski (Purdue University, USA , currently at KTH, Sweden)
Siegfried Langenbuch (GRS, Germany)
Armin Seubert (GRS, Germany)
Winfried Zwermann (GRS, Germany)
Tetsuo Nakajima (JNES, Japan)
Akiko Takeuchi (JNES, Japan)
Toshikazu Takeda (Osaka University, Japan)
Sho Tanaka (Osaka University, Japan)
Jin-Young Cho (KAERI, Korea)
Hyung Kook Joo (KAERI, Korea)
Kang-Seog Kim (KAERI, Korea)
Hyun Chul Lee (KAERI, Korea)
Jae Man Noh (KAERI, Korea)
Jae Woon Yoo (KAERI, Korea)
Han-Gyu Joo (SNU, Korea)
Sergey Akimushkin (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)
Alexander Avvakumov (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)
Valery Malofeev (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)
Andrey Myasnikov (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)
Victor Sidorov (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)
Hakim Ferroukhi (PSI, Switzerland)
Martin Zimmermann (PSI, Switzerland)
Thomas J. Downar (Purdue University, USA)


For more information, please contact .

For more information on activities managed/supported by the NSC, please contact .

Last reviewed: 8 December 2011