Nuclear Development Committee (NDC)

The Committee for Technical and Economic Studies on Nuclear Energy Development and the Fuel Cycle, known as the Nuclear Development Committee (NDC), was established in 1977, initially with the aim of analysing the resources that would be needed for future exploitation of nuclear energy. The NDC mandate is consistent with the NEA objectives in the nuclear development area and is adopted on a five-year basis. The Committee meets roughly every eight months to review activities being carried out by the expert groups and to adopt its programme of work.

Participation in the NDC is restricted to NEA members. In recent years, however, the ad hoc expert groups that undertake most of the programme of work have included experts from non-member economies of Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America and Asia.

Bureau members

Finland: Mr Jorma Aurela
Mr Patrick Ledermann (Chair)
Japan: Mr Yu Nagai
Poland: Mr Zbigniew Kubacki
United States: Mr William (Bill) McCaughey

Programme of work (password protected | reminder)

Last reviewed: 3 September 2020