International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (Nuclear Terrorism Convention or ICSANT)

The Nuclear Terrorism Convention's main objective relates to the criminalisation of a number of nuclear and radioactive material related offences, the establishment of jurisdiction over these offences and the co-operation among states parties, with the United Nations and with the International Atomic Energy Agency in specified matters.

  • Adopted: 13 April 2005
  • Opened for signature: 14 September 2005
  • Entered into force: 7 July 2007
  • Parties: 120 (see table below)

The text of the Nuclear Terrorism Convention is available here.

More information, including the current status of the Nuclear Terrorism Convention, is available here.

The following articles related to the Nuclear Terrorism Convention were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin and Principles and Practice of International Nuclear Law:


Parties to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism
(Nuclear Terrorism Convention or ICSANT)
Afghanistan Croatia Jordan Namibia Serbia
Algeria Cuba Kazakhstan Nauru Singapore
Antigua and Barbuda Cyprus Kenya Netherlands* Slovak Republic*
Argentina* Czech Republic* Kiribati New Zealand Slovenia*
Armenia* Democratic Republic of the Congo Korea* Nicaragua Solomon Islands
Australia Denmark Kuwait Niger South Africa*
Austria Djibouti Kyrgyzstan Nigeria Spain*
Azerbaijan Dominican Republic Latvia North Macedonia Sri Lanka
Bahrain El Salvador Lebanon Norway Sweden*
Bangladesh Fiji Lesotho Oman Switzerland*
Belarus* Finland* Libya Palestinian Authority Tajikistan
Belgium* France* Liechtenstein Panama Thailand
Benin Gabon Lithuania Paraguay Tunisia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Georgia Luxembourg Peru Türkiye
Botswana Germany Madagascar Poland Turkmenistan
Brazil* Guatemala Malawi Portugal Ukraine*
Burundi Guinea-Bissau Mali Qatar United Arab Emirates*
Canada* Hungary* Malta Romania* United Kingdom*
Central African Republic India* Mauritania Russia* United States
Chile Indonesia Mexico* Saint Kitts and Nevis Uruguay
China* Iraq Moldova Saint Lucia Uzbekistan
Comoros Italy Mongolia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Viet Nam
Costa Rica Jamaica Montenegro San Marino Yemen
Côte d'Ivoire Japan* Morocco Saudi Arabia Zambia
* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.