NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Reactor Physics and Advanced Nuclear Systems

Chair(s): Hakim FERROUKHI, Switzerland
Secretary:  Ian HILL
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:30 June 2010
End of mandate:30 June 2018

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document [NEA/SEN/NSC/WPRS(2016)2]


Under the guidance of the Working Party on Scientific Issues of Reactor Systems (WPRS) the expert group will perform specific tasks associated with reactor physics aspects of present and future nuclear power systems. Reactor types considered include, but are not limited to the following:


To provide expert advice to the WPRS and the nuclear community on the development needs (data and methods, validation experiments, scenario studies) for different reactor systems.

To provide specific technical information regarding:

This technical information will generally be derived from a combination of direct experimental evidence and/or the results of theoretical benchmark analyses using accurate, validated modelling methods. In either case the availability of suitable experimental data is a fundamental requirement. A key objective of the group will therefore be to help identify, evaluate and preserve this type of experimental data. In this context the expert group will monitor, steer and support the continued development of the International Reactor Physics Experiments Evaluation database (IRPhE).

Where required, the expert group will provide safety scenario studies for advanced systems and fuels. In this context it will liaise closely with the Working Party on Scientific Issues of the Fuel Cycle (WPFC).


Meeting frequency

Once per year for the full expert group with additional meetings in support of particular activities (e.g. IRPhE).