Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters (WPNEM)

Co-operation with other international organisations

International organisations such as the European Commission (EC), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), World Health Organisation (WHO), World Meteorological Organization (WMO), and the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UN-OCHA), and NATO are invited to join the Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters as observers. In general, representatives from the EC, the IAEA, the WHO and the WMO attend meetings and participate in discussions.

The Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters will participate, as appropriate, in the development, planning, preparation and organisation of international nuclear emergency exercises, jointly sponsored by the IAEA, the EC, the WHO, the WMO, the NEA and any other interested international organisations.

During the planning phase of an international nuclear emergency exercise, the Inter-Agency Committee on Radiological and Nuclear Emergencies (IACRNE) co-ordinates the different objectives of the various international organisations in the United Nations family concerned: the IAEA, Food and Agriculture Organization, UN-OCHA, WHO, and WMO. The IAEA serves as secretariat to the IACRNE. The EC and the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency also participate in the IACRNE. The objectives of the Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters are communicated to the IACRNE by the NEA representative at the IACRNE, or through the IACRNE Working Group on Joint International Exercises.

Last reviewed: 19 March 2013