Towards an All-Hazards Approach to Emergency Preparedness and Response: Lessons Learnt from Non-Nuclear Events

Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters

History and organisational structure within the NEA

The NEA Committee on Radiation Protection and Public Health (CRPPH) has been addressing nuclear emergency matters for some time. The Expert Group on Nuclear Emergency Matters was created in 1993 following the completion of the first International Nuclear Emergency Exercise (INEX) to address exercise lessons. Expert Groups are product oriented and term limited, with mandates that are, in general, valid for 1.5 to 2 years. After several mandate renewals, in 2000 the CRPPH agreed on the long-term value of nuclear emergency matters, and changed the Expert Group into a Working Party, a type of group that is theme oriented and mandate renewable every 3 years if appropriate. The WPNEM has since had its mandate updated and renewed six times.

The Chairman of the Working Party regularly reports to the CRPPH on the current status of the work programme, on achievements made, and on future projects and objectives, including a long-term perspective. The CRPPH is invited to discuss and approve the work programme and the achievements made. In addition, the CRPPH members can express their ideas and priorities in the area of nuclear emergency planning, preparedness and management and assist the Working Party in establishing their long-term objectives.

  • Committee on Radiation Protection and Public Health (CRPPH)

    Chair: Mr Mike Boyd, USA, Secretariat: Dr Ted Lazo

    • Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters (WPNEM)

      Chair: Dr Matthias Zähringer, Germany
      Vice-Chair: Ms Patricia Milligan, USA
      Vice-Chair: Mrs Sara DeCair, USA
      Secretariat: Ms Olvido Guzmán