OECD/NEA mission to Canada

23-24 February 2011 – OECD/NEA Director-General Luis Echávarri met with officials in Ottawa, Canada to discuss recent developments in nuclear energy from both the Canadian and international perspective. Topics of discussion included the security of supply of medical radioisotopes and the restructuring of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), the Canadian crown corporation responsible for the advancement and support of Canada Deuterium Uranium (CANDU) reactor technology. Mr. Echávarri met with senior officials from Natural Resources Canada including Deputy Minister Serge Dupont, Cécile Cléroux, Assistant Deputy Minister in charge of AECL Restructuring, and Sylvana Guindon, Director of the Nuclear Energy Division. Mr. Echávarri also met with Michael Binder, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and Hugh MacDiarmid, Chief Executive Officer of the AECL.

On 24 February, Mr. Echávarri was invited by the Canadian Nuclear Association (CNA) to present the Nuclear Energy Technology Roadmap to 2050 during the 2011 CNA Nuclear Industry Conference and Trade Show in Ottawa.

Please visit our Facebook page for photos of the event.

Press contact:

Write to: 
Follow us: @OECD_NEA

NEA membership consists of 33 countries. The mission of the NEA is to assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co‑operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally sound and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. It strives to provide authoritative assessments and to forge common understandings on key issues as input to government decisions on nuclear energy policy and to broader OECD analyses in areas such as energy and the sustainable development of low‑carbon economies.