Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

IV. Liability and compensation for nuclear damage

Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage (Vienna Convention)

The Vienna Convention establishes a nuclear liability and compensation regime similar to that provided for under the Paris Convention. The Vienna Convention is open to any state.

Adopted: 21 May 1963

Opened for signature: 21 May 1963

Entered into force: 12 November 1977

Parties: 40 (see table below)

More information, including the text of the Vienna Convention, is available here.

The current status of the Vienna Convention is available here.

The following is a sampling of the articles related to the Vienna Convention that have been published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage
Argentina* Cuba Lithuania Romania*
Armenia* Czech Republic* Mauritius Russia*
Belarus Egypt Mexico* Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Bolivia Estonia Moldova Saudi Arabia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Montenegro Senegal
Brazil* Hungary* Niger Serbia
Bulgaria* Jordan Nigeria Slovakia
Cameroon Kazakhstan Peru Trinidad and Tobago
Chile Latvia Philippines Ukraine*
Croatia Lebanon Poland Uruguay

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.

Last reviewed: 9 February 2017