Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

IV. Liability and compensation for nuclear damage

Protocol to Amend the 1963 Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage (1997 Vienna Protocol)

The 1997 Vienna Protocol improves the original regime by requiring that more money be made available to compensate more victims for a broad range of damages.

Adopted: 12 September 1997

Opened for signature: 29 September 1997

Entered into force: 4 October 2003

Parties: 13 (see table below)

More information on of the 1997 Vienna Protocol, including the text, is available here.

The current status of the 1997 Vienna Protocol is available here.

The following is a sampling of the articles related to the 1997 Vienna Protocol that have been published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Protocol to Amend the Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage
Argentina* Kazakhstan Niger United Arab Emirates
Belarus Latvia Poland  
Bosnia and Herzegovina Montenegro Romania*  
Jordan Morocco Saudi Arabia  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.

Last reviewed: 9 February 2017