Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

IV. Liability and compensation for nuclear damage

Paris Convention on Nuclear Third Party Liability in the Field of Nuclear Energy (Paris Convention or PC)

The Paris Convention establishes a nuclear liability and compensation regime to compensate victims of a nuclear accident. The PC is open to OECD member countries as of right and non-member countries with the consent of all the contracting parties to the Paris Convention.

Adopted: 29 July 1960

Opened for signature: 29 July 1960

Entered into force: 1 April 1968, along with its 1964 Additional Protocol

Parties: 161 (to the Paris Convention and to its 1964 and 1982 Protocols) (see table below)

More information on the Paris Convention, including the text, is available here.

The current status of ratifications or accessions to the Paris Convention is available here.

The following is a sampling of the articles related to the PC that have been published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Paris Convention on Nuclear Third Party Liability
Belgium* Germany* Norway Sweden*
Denmark Greece Portugal Switzerland*
Finland* Italy Slovenia* Turkey
France* Netherlands* Spain* United Kingdom*

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.

  1. Switzerland has signed the 1960 Paris Convention, the 1964 Additional Protocol to amend the Paris Convention and the 1982 and 2004 Protocols to amend the Paris Convention. On 9 March 2009, Switzerland deposited its instrument of ratification of the 1960 Paris Convention as amended by the 1964, 1982 and 2004 amending Protocols. As this ratification is effective only with respect to the 1960 Paris Convention as amended by all 3 Protocols, entry into force for Switzerland of the Paris Convention as so amended will only take place once the 2004 Protocol to amend the Paris Convention has itself entered into force.

Last reviewed: 9 February 2017