Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

IV. Liability and compensation for nuclear damage

Joint Protocol Relating to the Application of the Vienna Convention and the Paris Convention (Joint Protocol)

The Joint Protocol acts as a bridge between the Paris and Vienna Conventions, effectively extending the benefits provided by one convention to victims in countries that have joined the other convention.

Adopted: 21 September 1988

Opened for signature: 21 September 1988

Entered into force: 27 April 1992

Parties: 28 (see table below – "PC" or "VC" indicates that a state is a party to the Paris Convention or the Vienna Convention respectively)

More information on the Joint Protocol, including the text, is available here and here.

The text of the Joint Protocol is also reproduced in Nuclear Law Bulletin No. 42.

The current status of the Joint Protocol is available here.

The following is a sampling of the articles related to the Joint Convention that have been published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Joint Protocol to the Application of the Vienna Convention and the Paris Convention
Bulgaria* (VC) Estonia (VC) Latvia (VC) Slovakia* (VC)
Cameroon (VC) Finland* (PC) Lithuania (VC) Slovenia* (PC)
Chile (VC) France* (PC) Netherlands* (PC) Sweden* (PC)
Croatia (VC) Germany* (PC) Norway (PC) Turkey (PC)
Czech Republic* (VC) Greece (PC) Poland (VC) Ukraine* (VC)
Denmark (PC) Hungary* (VC) Romania* (VC) United Arab Emirates (VC)
Egypt (VC) Italy (PC) Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (VC) Uruguay (VC)

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.

Last reviewed: 9 February 2017