Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

II. Non-proliferation and nuclear security

International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (Nuclear Terrorism Convention or ICSANT)

The Nuclear Terrorism Convention's main objective relates to the criminalisation of a number of nuclear and radioactive material related offences, the establishment of jurisdiction over these offences and the co-operation among states parties, with the United Nations and with the International Atomic Energy Agency in specified matters.

Adopted: 13 April 2005

Opened for signature: 14 September 2005

Entered into force: 7 July 2007

Parties: 113 (see table below)

The text of the Nuclear Terrorism Convention is available here.

More information, including the current status of the Nuclear Terrorism Convention, is available here.

The following articles related to the Nuclear Terrorism Convention were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (Nuclear Terrorism Convention or ICSANT)
Afghanistan Cyprus Kiribati Niger Switzerland*
Algeria Czech Republic* Korea* Nigeria Tunisia
Antigua and Barbuda Democratic Republic of the Congo Kuwait Norway Turkey
Argentina* Denmark Kyrgyzstan Panama Turkmenistan
Armenia* Djibouti Latvia Paraguay Ukraine*
Australia Dominican Republic Lebanon Peru United Arab Emirates
Austria El Salvador Lesotho Poland United Kingdom*
Azerbaijan Fiji Libya Portugal United States
Bahrain Finland* Liechtenstein Qatar Uruguay
Bangladesh Former Yugoslav Republic
of Macedonia
Lithuania Romania* Uzbekistan
Belarus France* Luxembourg Russia* Vietnam
Belgium* Gabon Madagascar San Marino Yemen
Benin Georgia Malawi Saint Lucia Zambia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Germany* Malta Saint Vincent and the Grenadines  
Brazil* Guinea-Bissau Mali Saudi Arabia  
Burundi Hungary* Mauritania Serbia  
Canada* India* Mexico* Singapore  
Central African Republic Indonesia Moldova Slovakia*  
Chile Iraq Mongolia Slovenia*  
China* Italy Morocco Solomon Islands  
Comoros Jamaica Namibia South Africa*  
Costa Rica Japan* Nauru Spain*  
Côte d'Ivoire Jordan Netherlands* State of Palestine  
Croatia Kazakhstan New Zealand Sri Lanka  
Cuba Kenya Nicaragua Sweden*  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.


Last reviewed: 27 February 2018