Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

II. Non-proliferation and nuclear security

Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM)

The CPPNM establishes measures related to the physical protection of nuclear material used for peaceful purposes during transport, criminalisation of offenses relating to nuclear material and international co-operation and exchange of information.

Adopted: 26 October 1979

Opened for signature: 3 March 1980

Entered into force: 8 February 1987

Parties: 156 (see table below)

More information on the CPPNM, including the text, is available here.

The text of the CPPNM is also reproduced in Nuclear Law Bulletin No. 23.

The current status of the CPPNM is available here.

The following articles related to the CPPNM were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material
Afghanistan Croatia Iraq Mozambique Slovakia*
Albania Cuba Ireland Myanmar Slovenia*
Algeria Cyprus Israel Namibia South Africa*
Andorra Czech Republic* Italy Nauru Spain*
Antigua and Barbuda Democratic Republic of the Congo Jamaica Netherlands* State of Palestine
Argentina* Denmark Japan* New Zealand Sudan
Armenia* Djibouti Jordan Nicaragua Swaziland
Australia Dominica Kazakhstan Niger Sweden*
Austria Dominican Republic Kenya Nigeria Switzerland*
Azerbaijan Ecuador Korea* Niue Tajikistan
Bahamas El Salvador Kuwait Norway Tanzania
Bahrain Equatorial Guinea Kyrgyzstan Oman Togo
Bangladesh Estonia Lao People's Democratic Republic Pakistan* Tonga
Belarus Fiji Latvia Palau Trinidad and Tobago
Belgium* Finland* Lebanon Panama Tunisia
Bolivia Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Lesotho Paraguay Turkey
Bosnia and Herzegovina France* Libya Peru Turkmenistan
Botswana Gabon Liechtenstein Philippines Uganda
Brazil* Georgia Lithuania Poland Ukraine*
Bulgaria* Germany* Luxembourg Portugal United Arab Emirates
Burkina Faso Ghana Madagascar Qatar United Kingdom*
Cabo Verde Greece Malawi Romania* United States*
Cambodia Grenada Mali Russia* Uruguay
Cameroon Guatemala Malta Rwanda Uzbekistan
Canada* Guinea Marshall Islands Saint Kitts and Nevis Vietnam
Central African Republic Guinea-Bissau Mauritania Saint Lucia Yemen
Chile Guyana Mexico* San Marino Zambia
China* Honduras Moldova Saudi Arabia EURATOM
Colombia Hungary* Monaco Senegal  
Comoros Iceland Mongolia Serbia  
Costa Rica India* Montenegro Seychelles  
Côte d'Ivoire Indonesia Morocco Singapore  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.


Last reviewed: 28 February 2018