Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

I. Nuclear safety and emergency response

Convention on Nuclear Safety (CNS)

The CNS is an incentive convention that aims to, inter alia, achieve and maintain a high level of nuclear safety worldwide through the enhancement of national measures and international co-operation including, where appropriate, safety-related technical co-operation.

Adopted: 17 June 1994

Opened for signature: 20 September 1994

Entered into force: 24 October 1996

Parties: 85 parties (including EURATOM) (see table below)

More information on the CNS, including the text, is available here.

The text of the CNS is also reproduced in Nuclear Law Bulletin No. 53.

The current status of the CNS is available here.

The following articles related to the CNS were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Convention on Nuclear Safety
Albania Finland* Madagascar Singapore
Argentina* Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Mali Slovakia*
Armenia* France* Malta Slovenia*
Australia Germany* Mexico* South Africa*
Austria Ghana Moldova Spain*
Bahrain Greece Montenegro Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Hungary* Myanmar Sweden*
Belarus Iceland Netherlands* Switzerland*
Belgium* India* Niger Syrian Arab Republic
Bosnia and Herzegovina Indonesia Nigeria Thailand
Brazil* Ireland Norway Tunisia
Bulgaria* Italy Oman Turkey
Cambodia Japan* Pakistan* Ukraine*
Canada* Jordan Paraguay United Arab Emirates
Chile Kazakhstan Peru United Kingdom*
China* Korea* Poland United States*
Croatia Kuwait Portugal Uruguay
Cuba Latvia Romania* Viet Nam
Cyprus Lebanon Russia* EURATOM
Czech Republic* Libya Saudi Arabia  
Denmark Lithuania Senegal  
Estonia Luxembourg Serbia  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.


Last reviewed: 6 August 2018