Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

I. Nuclear safety and emergency response

Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident (Early Notification Convention)

The Early Notification Convention establishes a notification system for nuclear accidents that have the potential for an international transboundary release of radioactive material that could be of radiological safety significance for another state.

Adopted: 26 September 1986

Opened for signature: 26 September 1986 (Vienna) and 6 October 1986 (New York)

Entered into force: 27 October 1986

Parties: 121 (including EURATOM, FAO, WHO and WMO) (see table below)

More information on the Early Notification Convention, including the text, is available here.

The text of the Early Notification Convention is also reproduced in the Supplement to Nuclear Law Bulletin No. 38.

The current status of the Early Notification Convention is available here.

The following article related to the Early Notification Convention was published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident
Albania Egypt Lithuania Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Algeria Estonia Luxembourg Saudi Arabia
Angola Finland* Madagascar Senegal
Argentina* Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Malaysia Serbia
Armenia* France* Mali Singapore
Australia Gabon Mauritania Slovakia*
Austria Georgia Mauritius Slovenia*
Bahrain Germany* Mexico* South Africa*
Bangladesh Ghana Moldova Spain*
Belarus Greece Monaco Sri Lanka
Belgium* Guatemala Mongolia Sweden*
Bolivia Hungary* Montenegro Switzerland*
Bosnia and Herzegovina Iceland Morocco Tajikistan
Botswana India* Mozambique Tanzania
Brazil* Indonesia Myanmar Thailand
Bulgaria* Iran* Netherlands* Tunisia
Burkina Faso Iraq New Zealand Turkey
Cambodia Ireland Nicaragua Ukraine*
Cameroon Israel Nigeria United Arab Emirates
Canada* Italy Norway United Kingdom*
Chile Japan* Oman United States*
China* Jordan Pakistan* Uruguay
Colombia Kazakhstan Panama Venezuela
Costa Rica Korea* Paraguay Viet Nam
Croatia Kuwait Peru EURATOM
Cuba Lao People's Democratic Republic Philippines Food and Agriculture Organisation
Cyprus Latvia Poland World Health Organisation
Czech Republic* Lebanon Portugal World Meteorological Organisation
Denmark Lesotho Qatar  
Dominican Republic Libya Romania*  
El Salvador Liechtenstein Russia*  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.


Last reviewed: 6 August 2018