Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

I. Nuclear safety and emergency response

Convention on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency (Convention on Assistance)

The Convention on Assistance sets up a framework for states parties to co-operate amongst themselves and with the International Atomic Energy Agency to facilitate prompt assistance in the event of a nuclear accident or radiological emergency.

Adopted: 26 September 1986

Opened for signature: 26 September 1986 (Vienna) and 6 October 1986 (New York)

Entered into force: 26 February 1987

Parties: 116 (including EURATOM, FAO, WHO and WMO) (see table below)

More information on the Convention on Assistance, including the text, is available here.

The text of the Convention on Assistance is also reproduced in the Supplement to Nuclear Law Bulletin No. 38.

The current status of the Convention on Assistance is available here.

The following article related to the Convention on Assistance was published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Parties to the Convention on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency
Albania Finland* Luxembourg Russia*
Algeria Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Madagascar Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Argentina* France* Malaysia Saudi Arabia
Armenia* Gabon Mali Senegal
Australia Georgia Mauritania Serbia
Austria Germany* Mauritius Singapore
Bangladesh Greece Mexico* Slovakia*
Belarus Guatemala Moldova Slovenia*
Belgium* Hungary* Monaco South Africa*
Bolivia Iceland Mongolia Spain*
Bosnia and Herzegovina India* Montenegro Sri Lanka
Botswana Indonesia Morocco Sweden*
Brazil* Iran* Mozambique Switzerland*
Bulgaria* Iraq Netherlands* Tajikistan
Burkina Faso Ireland New Zealand Tanzania
Cameroon Israel Nicaragua Thailand
Canada* Italy Niger Tunisia
Chile Japan* Nigeria Turkey
China* Jordan Norway Ukraine*
Colombia Kazakhstan Oman United Arab Emirates
Costa Rica Korea* Pakistan* United Kingdom*
Croatia Kuwait Panama United States*
Cuba Lao People's Democratic Republic Paraguay Uruguay
Cyprus Latvia Peru Viet Nam
Czech Republic* Lebanon Philippines EURATOM
Denmark Lesotho Poland Food and Agriculture Organisation
Egypt Libya Portugal World Health Organisation
El Salvador Liechtenstein Qatar World Meteorological Organisation
Estonia Lithuania Romania*  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.


Last reviewed: 6 August 2018