Multilateral agreements in nuclear energy

II. Non-proliferation and nuclear security

Amendment to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (Amendment to the CPPNM)

The objective of the Amendment to the CPPNM is to achieve and maintain worldwide effective physical protection of nuclear material and of nuclear facilities used for peaceful purposes; to prevent and combat offences relating to such material and facilities worldwide; as well as to facilitate co-operation among states parties to those ends. It extends and enhances the scope of the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM).

Adopted: 8 July 2005

Entered into force: 8 May 2016

Parties: 115 (see table below)

More information on the Amendment to the CPPNM, including the text, is available here.

The unofficial consolidated text of the CPPNM, as amended on 8 July 2005 [Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and Nuclear Facilities (CPPNMNF)] is available here.

The current status of the Amendment to the CPPNM is available here.

The following articles related to the Amendment to the CPPNM were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

Contracting States to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material

Albania Croatia Indonesia Mexico* San Marino
Algeria Cuba Ireland Moldova Saudi Arabia
Antigua and Barbuda Cyprus Israel Monaco Senegal
Argentina* Czech Republic* Italy Montenegro Serbia
Armenia* Denmark Jamaica Morocco Seychelles
Australia Djibouti Japan* Myanmar Singapore
Austria Dominican Republic Jordan Namibia Slovakia*
Azerbaijan Ecuador Kazakhstan Nauru Slovenia*
Bahrain El Salvador Kenya Netherlands* Spain*
Bangladesh Estonia Korea* New Zealand Sweden*
Belgium* EURATOM Kuwait Nicaragua Swaziland
Bolivia Fiji Kyrgyzstan Niger Switzerland*
Bosnia and Herzegovina Finland* Latvia Nigeria Tajikistan
Botswana Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Lesotho Norway Tunisia
Bulgaria* France* Libya Pakistan* Turkey
Bukina Faso Gabon Liechtenstein Paraguay Turkmenistan
Cameroon Georgia Lithuania Peru Ukraine*
Canada* Germany* Luxembourg Poland United Arab Emirates
Chile Ghana Madagascar Portugal United Kingdom*
China* Greece Mali Qatar United States
Colombia Hungary* Malta Romania* Uruguay
Costa Rica Iceland Marshall Islands Russia* Uzbekistan
Cote d'Ivoire India* Mauritania Saint Lucia Vietnam

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.


Last reviewed: 26 October 2017