NEA Component Operational Experience, Degradation and Ageing Programme (CODAP) Project

The OECD Component Operational Experience, Degradation and Ageing Programme (CODAP) aims to combine the follow-up of two previous NEA projects: the OECD Pipe Failure Data Exchange Project (OPDE) and the Stress corrosion cracking (SCC) part of the SCC and Cable Ageing Project (SCAP).


The OECD Pipe Failure Data Exchange Project (OPDE) was established in May 2002 to produce an international database on the piping service experience applicable to commercial nuclear plants. The OPDE project was completed at the end of May 2011. In 2006 the SCAP project was established by the NEA to assess two subjects, stress corrosion cracking (SCC) and degradation of cable insulation, due to their implication on nuclear safety and their relevance for plant ageing management. The project ran successfully from June 2006 to June 2010. Seventeen NEA member countries joined the SCAP project. The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the European Commission also participated as observers.

Following the completion of the SCAP project, SCC participants recognised that there are many similarities between the OPDE and SCAP SCC projects and therefore, the concept of a new project was envisaged to combine the two projects and build two new database projects called: OECD Component Operational Experience, Degradation and Ageing Programme (CODAP) and Cable Ageing Data and Knowledge Project (CADAK). The cable ageing part of the SCAP project concerning electrical and I&C cables and management of their ageing effects is managed by another NEA database project, CADAK.


The objectives of the CODAP project are to:

  1. collect information on passive metallic component degradation and failures of the primary system, reactor pressure vessel internals, main process and standby safety systems, and support systems (i.e. ASME Code Class 1, 2 and 3, or equivalent), as well as non-safety-related (non-code) components with significant operational impact;
  2. establish a knowledge base for general information on component and degradation mechanisms such as applicable regulations, codes and standards, bibliography and references, R&D programmes and pro-active actions, information on key parameters, models, thresholds and kinetics, fitness for service criteria, and information on mitigation, monitoring, surveillance, diagnostics, repair and replacement;
  3. develop topical reports on degradation mechanisms in close coordination with the CSNI Integrity and Ageing of Components and Structures Working Group (WGIAGE).

Based on the structure described in the final SCAP report, the CODAP project and database is managing information through two different parts: the CODAP Online Event Database and the CODAP Knowledge Base.

Participating countries

At the present time, 13 NEA member countries participate in the database project. The countries are as follows: Canada, Chinese Taipei, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Republic of Korea, Japan, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States of America. Other countries are being consulted.

Project period

Current mandate: June 2011 to December 2014

Participating countries

Canada, Chinese Taipei, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Republic of Korea, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States


EUR 130 000 per year

Related links


Olli Nevander:

Last reviewed: 18 December 2014