Welcome to the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is a specialised agency within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an intergovernmental organisation of industrialised countries, based in Paris, France. More... 

Press releases and news

Mr Richard Stratford and Mrs Marie­Elise Hoedemakers NEA Steering Committee for Nuclear Energy elects next Chair
Mrs Marie‑Elise Hoedemakers, Senior Policy Advisor for International Nuclear Affairs at the Ministry of Economic Affairs of the Netherlands, has been elected as the next Chair of the NEA Steering Committee for Nuclear Energy, replacing Mr Richard Stratford of the US Department of State. Since 2011, she has been serving as a Vice‑Chair in the Steering Committee Bureau. Mrs Hoedemakers, who will become Chair on 1 January 2015, is the first woman to do so in the history of the Committee.

"I am very pleased with the Steering Committee decision and am looking forward to working with Mrs Hoedemakers," said NEA Director‑General Mr William D. Magwood, IV. "Her professional and personal qualities, combined with her extensive knowledge of NEA Steering Committee affairs, will be a great asset as we pursue future developments at the Agency."

Poland joins the NEA Data Bank
The NEA is pleased to announce that Poland has become the 25th country to join the NEA Data Bank, effective as of 24 October 2014. As Poland pursues the development of its nuclear power programme, access to the NEA Data Bank, an internationally recognised centre of reference for nuclear data tools and services, becomes increasingly important. NEA Director‑General Mr William D. Magwood, IV greatly welcomes Poland's membership, and notes that "this is another important step in Poland's efforts to build a robust infrastructure for the safe use of nuclear power in the future."

NEA Steering Committee Policy Debate speakers NEA Steering Committee Policy Debate on the Thorium Fuel Cycle
On 31 October 2014, the Steering Committee for Nuclear Energy held a policy debate on the thorium fuel cycle to discuss whether the introduction of a thorium fuel cycle could become a practical option, as well as the technical challenges associated with the various approaches to the use of thorium fuel. Speakers included Mr Kevin Hesketh of the UK National Nuclear Laboratory, Dr Richard Didsbury of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), Dr Frank Carré of the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA) and Dr Victor Ignatiev of the Kurchatov Institute, Russian Federation. The NEA is in the final stages of publishing a report which will provide a clear, objective assessment of the thorium fuel cycle and its prospects.

Former NEA Director-General honoured with conferral of the Order of the Rising Sun
Mr. Luis E. Echávarri, former Director-General of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), was conferred the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon, an imperial decoration of Japan at a ceremony hosted by H.E. Ambassador Kazuo Kodama in Paris on 6 October 2014. The honour was awarded in recognition of the significant contributions Mr. Echávarri has made through his work at the NEA, promoting nuclear safety in Japan and mutual understanding between Japan and the international community.

More news...

New publications and reports

Guide for International Peer Reviews of Decommissioning Cost Studies for Nuclear Facilities
Read the report

Uranium 2014: Resources, Production and Demand – Executive Summary
Read the report 

Nuclear Law Bulletin No. 93
Read the report

Uranium 2014: Resources, Production and Demand
Read the report

Nuclear Site Remediation and Restoration during Decommissioning of Nuclear Installations
Read the report

Perceptions and Realities in Modern Uranium Mining – Extended Summary
Read the report 

Follow the NEA